An air dry clay project, the sculpting stage essentials

This is a project I began months ago, and could finally manage to finish it recently. In this post I will tell you how I did the sculpting part. Will show you the painted final result in another post.

For this project I used:
1. two small balls of polystyrene (2 cm diameter)
2. some galvanized metal wire (of two different width, thick and narrow)
3. paper
4. white glue
5. fine air dry clay
6. wooden heart base (could be found on craft supply shops)

First I drilled the wood, and inserted two pieces of the thicker metal wire through the holes. Then I fixed them under the heart (to do so I had to drill out a part of the wood under the base).
Then I add the two polystyrene balls on top of the wires: first made a hole, then add some glue, and then inserted the wires into them.

Then I covered the metal wires first with narrower metal wires and then with layers of paper glued on top of each other.

Air dry clay project - step 1

Air dry clay project – step 1

Then covered the paper creature with air dry clay, and gave it the shape I wanted.
This step was just about sculpting.

Air dry clay project - step 2

Air dry clay project – step 2

Now as you may have already guessed, it’s about a boy and a flower! A lovely famous story. That’s why I chose a heart shape base!
For creating the leaves of the flower I used the narrower wire.

Air dry clay project - step 3

Air dry clay project – step 3

I covered the flower with paper, then with air dry clay, as did for the boy sculpture, but decided not to cover the leaves with air dry clay, as I wanted them to be slightly poseable.

Air dry clay project - step 4

Air dry clay project – step 4

Finished the retouches of the clay sculpture and the work is ready to be painted. Here are the close ups of these two characters sculpted faces.

Air dry clay project - sculpting completed

Air dry clay project – sculpting completed

Air dry clay project - sculpting completed

Air dry clay project – sculpting completed

I have already taken some photos of the finished project after being painted, but am waiting for the sun to take some better photos, as the details are best seen by natural light. We have had a spring much similar to autumn this year, it is so often cloudy and rainy, and some days even a bit cold!
If you have any questions about this stage, please feel free to ask in the comments.

2 thoughts on “An air dry clay project, the sculpting stage essentials

Leave a Reply

