Working with air dry clay tutorial part 3: Dealing with resin related problems

Now lets talk about resins. I usually add a layer of resin to the eyes and lips of my air dry creations to give them a more natural look. I have tried all possibilities for resins, from UV curing resins to epoxy resins. After many hours of research on internet, and different experiences, no I can announce what works best for me is Brilliant Resin. This product is the best and less toxic epoxy resin I have found, and besides creates really few bubbles, so I will just cling to it!

Now let me tell you what happened during the resin stage… I’ve been used to small scales for my creations, this custom order was a bit big, and as the resin is very liquid, the doming surface as we see on a real eye, didn’t happen . I was trying to create the doming effect playing with the resin which was hardening gradually using a brush, and gravitation always made the resin flow downward, even when it had become thicker. Then I noticed that many tiny bubbles were created by my efforts, and that was not pretty at all. After getting sure that the bubbles were not supposed to disappear and that was when the resin were almost cured, I decided to tear it off and retry with a new layer of resin. And there happens the tragedy: the colors were torn off together with the resin as they were completely attached to it. OMG!

Working with air dry clay, tearing off the resin

Working with air dry clay, tearing off the resin

OK, I admit that this had happened to me before, but not with a resin that was not yet completely cured! This time the resin seemed elastic so I was convinced that tragedy wouldn’t happen again. Unfortunately I was wrong, however being in the same situation before, I soon overcame the bad feelings. Hey, I had a new piece to paint, that’s fun 🙂 and I generally love painting the eyes.

Working with air dry clay, colors and resin torn off from one eye

Working with air dry clay, colors and resin torn off from one eye

Yes, I love the result. And it was fun to repaint the eye, trying to keep it similar to the other eye’s colors.

Working with air dry clay, eye recolored

Working with air dry clay, eye recolored

This time I just added the resin. Forget about the doming effect on such a big surface for now. I should discover the right method for that.
Anyways, the lesson learned: will never ever touch the resin which has gone through hardening stage! When it’s done it’s done, no way to turn back or modify, or all the work should be redone. AT least this is what I’ve learned up to my personal experiences.

Working with air dry clay, resin added again

Working with air dry clay, resin added again

Here are the links to the other parts of this tutorial:
Part 1: https://magicsofcreation.wordpress.com/2015/02/03/working-with-air-dry-clay-tutorial-part-1/
Part 2: https://magicsofcreation.wordpress.com/2015/02/07/working-with-air-dry-clay-tutorial-part-2/

2 thoughts on “Working with air dry clay tutorial part 3: Dealing with resin related problems

Leave a Reply

