Working with air dry clay tutorial – part 2

After correcting the subtle imperfections, I polished the sculpture surface as much as possible with a fine abrasive paper:

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, step 5

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, step 5

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, step 5

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, step 5

Then I directly brushed the black acrylic color on. Some people use premiers before adding colors, but to my experience acrylic colors work as well, they seal the dried clay well enough. Here I added black as the first layer of color all over the sculpture:

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, step 6

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, step 6

After the black color is well dried, I add thin layers of dark red:

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, step 7

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, step 7

I add colors gradually, always start coloring with darker tones, and end with the brightest. Here the heart sculpture is completely colored. Comparing it to the heart pendant chosen by the customer as reference the work seemed satisfying, they really look alike! ๐Ÿ™‚

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, step 8

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, step 8

Next step was adding the varnish all over the sculpture, and then applying the resin to its eyes and lips.
There are many kinds of resins, I first used UV curing resins, but that worked well on summer with sun shining strongly. I bought a UV lamp box but the lamps were exhausted so quickly and won’t buy anymore stuff like that. I discovered epoxy resins recently, searched days and nights on the internet until I finally found my favorite epoxy resin, the least toxic and most easy to use! Being based in Italy it’s not really an economic choice, ’cause it comes from US and I should pay almost the price of the product itself only for the shipping! However I really care for non toxic products, besides this resin cures very fast and with less bubbles in respect to the other epoxy resins I had tried. If you’re interested to know what its name is just let me know.
Everything went fine with adding resin to the sculpture’s lips:

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, adding resin

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, adding resin


However I was used to small sizes for working with the resin, this time two big eyes were to be covered with resin:

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, adding resin

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, adding resin

Unfortunately it didn’t went as I desired… On my next post you’ll see what happened to the eye of this smiling heart…

2 thoughts on “Working with air dry clay tutorial – part 2

Leave a Reply

