WORKING WITH AIR DRY CLAY TUTORIAL – PART 1

Here’s the first part of the tutorial I had promised. This sculpture is a custom order I finished some days ago. As I usually send to my customers updates of the work, I had to take some photos for most of the work stages, otherwise I seldom find the time and energy to take photos during work.

OOAK air dry clay Heart Sculpture

“Love Is Kind”, OOAK air dry clay Heart Sculpture

 

To create my normal air dry creations I just sculpt them out of clay without any base or armature, but that’s because I often work on small scales. For the creation of this heart sculpture, which was to be made as a home decor, as the scales were bigger (approx. 6″ x 6″) a wire armature was needed to give it more strength and resistance. So using a galvanized metal wire which can be found easily in many stores I first create an armature:

Wire armature for air dry clay sculpture

Wire armature for air dry clay sculpture

 

I haven’t take a photo of the second step which is to cover the wire armature with paper tape (sticky), however I think this step is not really necessary.
Then I added the firs layer of clay. At this step I just decide about the measures of the heart sculpture, not about any details. Those two wire pieces you see showing up on the rear of the work had been added while creating the wire armature. That’s to make the sculpture hang-able as a wall decor. It’s important to add it and secure it well when you create the wire armature, so that it would be resistant and enduring:

Air dry clay sculpture, working stage 2

Air dry clay sculpture, working stage 2

 

Here a base for the details has been created. I haven’t studied sculpture academically, neither been taught by anyone, all I’ve learned about sculpting is self-taught, so my method is as simple as possible: add the clay and modify the work until I like the result!

Air dry clay sculpture, working stage 3

Air dry clay sculpture, working stage 3

 

So after many adds and cuts I get to this portrait which looked like my original pendant sculpture: Love Is Kind, which was what the customer wanted.

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, step 4

Air dry clay sculpture, work in progress, step 4

 

In the next tutorial will post the next stages of the work, meanwhile feel free to ask any questions about this work, so I can also understand how to make better tutorials. 🙂

5 thoughts on “WORKING WITH AIR DRY CLAY TUTORIAL – PART 1

  1. Pingback: Working with air dry clay tutorial part 3: Dealing with resin related problems | Magics of creation

Leave a Reply

