A new portrait on stone!

Hi, this time I’m back so soon!
You know the famous up and downs, though I’m not in the ups mood and am still coping with lots of pain in my heart, I’ve been able to finish some of my uncompleted works.
This is an air dry clay sculpture on a river stone. I like this mix, the clay being stoneware sticks very well to the surface of the river stone, and the combination of the white clay and the gray stone is somehow pleasant to my taste.

OOAK white stone clay sculpture, a dreamy woman profile, on a river stone base

OOAK white stone clay sculpture, a dreamy woman profile, on a river stone base


However I would have preferred a more delicate varnish on it. I used the Liquitex varnish before, but had noticed that it wasn’t strong enough to protect these sculpture from scratch and other kinds of damage. So as many artists had recommended me I decided to use a wood varnish for this one. First I used a layer of gloss varnish, when I realized that it was too glossy and thick, so I added a satin varnish layer afterwards. The result is a semi-gloss look which is much better than the glossy look it had before.
Hope you like it, don’t hesitate to ask your questions, and if you’re interested to buy my works you can always check Magics of creation Etsy shop.
See you in the next post! 🙂

2 thoughts on “A new portrait on stone!

Leave a Reply

