Queen of hearts, my version!

Alice: But I don’t want to go among mad people.
The Cat: Oh, you can’t help that. We’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.
Alice: How do you know I’m mad?
The Cat: You must be. Or you wouldn’t have come here… 😀
I’m finally back with a new work, the queen of hearts from Alice in wonderland, my own version!
Here you see the final result, she’s immediately begun to enchant, though I have to wait to see whom heart she is conquering on my Etsy shop

OOAK handmade stone clay sculpture of Queen of herats (from Alice in the wonderland)

OOAK handmade stone clay sculpture of Queen of herats (from Alice in the wonderland)

I began with a strong paper mach, which I made by myself, will let you know about the receipt some day, if anyone is interested.
Then I glued the eyes I’d made before (using polymer clay and UV resin) to it:

Work progress, step1: strong paper mach armature with glued polymer clay eyes

Work progress, step1: strong paper mach armature with glued polymer clay eyes

After a week or two the paper mach was completely dry and very strong, so I covered it with my favorite Japanese stone clay then add the details. I should write a post about this clay which is the best I’ve ever tried. It’s an air dry clay, but the finest I’ve ever touched! One more reason for me to love Japan!

Work in progress, step2: covering the paper mach with stone clay

Work in progress, step2: covering the paper mach with stone clay

Then after some days when it was totally died I began adding acrylic colors:

Stone clay sculpture, work in progress, step 3: coloring

Stone clay sculpture, work in progress, step 3: coloring

Then I added the arms, it was the first time I made a jointed doll, difficult and challenging!
And afterwards added the mohair, first the red part, then the black part, using a great online tutorial, if you are interested to know the source just drop a line! 🙂
However I couldn’t decide for a hair style for her…

Queen of hearts (from Alice in wonderland) stone clay sculpture colored and hair added

Queen of hearts (from Alice in wonderland) stone clay sculpture colored and hair added

I finally decided to create a lace crown, and let her hair be free with the lace crown attached by a transparent plastic string to her head.

Queen of hearts stone clay sculpture in wonderland

Queen of hearts stone clay sculpture in wonderland

Here are more photos of her, click to see the photo gallery:

This doll is now available on my Etsy shop, just drop me a line on Etsy for any question, or comment here.

2 thoughts on “Queen of hearts, my version!

Leave a Reply

